Friend of a Friend/Chaverot

Click Here for Exciting 2019-20 Events

Who We Are:

A dynamic inter-generational group of women whose  mission is to provide a social outreach program, which will enhance their connection to the synagogue and Judaism. In hopes of enriching ourselves, our community and our Temple family, our goal is to offer programs that provide spiritual and intellectual fulfillment.

What We Do:

  • We sponsor terrific events, both religious and secular, to learn from our clergy and other speakers and to bond with and support the women within our temple community.
  • We do outreach and tzedakah, providing meals, clothing and support to those in need.
  • Your dues allow us to contribute to the youth and adult programs, the clergy's discretionary funds, the holiday boutiques and community social service organizations.

We welcome your participation and encourage new members to get involved. Annual Friend of a Friend/Chaverot dues may be paid along with your Temple membership  or anytime. For more information, please contact the Temple Office at 516-621-6800 or [email protected]

 

Please mark your calendar for the following Friend of a Friend events and, if you can join us, RSVP to: [email protected].

* Monthly FOF Friday membership meetings at 9:30am in the library

* Fri, September 6 - FOF Meeting & 10:30 am Welcome Buffet Breakfast 

Fri, September 13 - FOF SHABBAT SERVICE & CHAMPAGNE ONEG TOASTING RABBI SCHACHTER

Thurs, September 19 - RUGELACH WITH RHONDA - 10:30 am

* Fri, October 4 - FOF Meeting

Fri, October 11 - Decorate the Sukkah - 10:30 am

Fri, October 18 - SUKKOT SERVICE & BRUNCH, WITH USHPIZIN ABBIE LASKEY - 10:00 am

Wed, October 30 - CROWN HEIGHTS GUIDED TOUR - 9:00 am

* Fri, November 1 - FOF Meeting

Wed, November 6 - Wine, Women & Wisdom - 7:00 pm

Thurs, November 14 - Pinot & Painting with Artist in Residence Mordecai Rosenstein (Adult Engagement) - 7:30 pm

December 9, 10, 11 - Chanukah Boutique 

* Fri, December 13 - FOF Meeting

December 16, 17, 18 - Latke Parties 

Tues, January 7 - AE Author Talk/Lunch: Sarah Rose (co-sponsored by FOF) - 11:30 am

* Fri, January 10 - FOF Meeting & 10:30 am COOKING FOR A CAUSE 

Thurs, January 23 - Make a Glass Matzoh Tray - 7:00 pm

Wed, January 29 - Wine, Women & Wisdom - 7:00 pm

*Fri, February 7 - FOF Meeting

*Fri, March 6  - FOF Meeting & Deliver Purim Bags (Purim: March 9-10) 

Thurs, March 26 - WOMEN’S INTERGENERATIONAL SEDER

* Fri, April 3 - FOF Meeting

* Fri, May 1 - FOF Meeting

Fri, May 15 - FOF SHABBAT SERVICE

Wed, May 20 - Wine, Women & Wisdom - 7:00 pm

More events will be added soon for 2020!

Return to Top

Here’s a look at  some of our events - join us! 

Painting Events

  Service & Brunch in the Sukkah

 

 "Be a Mensch" - Make a Meal (with the Social Action Committee)

 

Spring Brunch

Join Friend of a Friend / Chaverot… be a part of this incredible group of women! 
To become a member:
Send your check payable to Temple Sinai for $36 
Memo Line: FOF 
Temple Sinai 
425 Roslyn Road
Roslyn Heights, NY 11577
or online : Click to join now!
Contact us at [email protected]  
 
Executive Board:  
President-Jacqueline Covey 
Treasurer-Robyn Schreiber
Recording Secretary- Lori Yaspan 
Rosh Chodesh-Charlotte Hollander & Abbie Laskey
Past President- Loryn Solomon 
Temple Vice President-Robyn Corbin

Upcoming Events

October 16, 2019 at 1:15pm